A Footballing Riddle

From high school gun to local superstar, Collingwood’s newest recruit is making quite an impression at VFL level.

Dean D’Angelo

Nick Riddle, number 59, in action against the Northern Blues on the weekend

With the athleticism of Chris Judd, the defensive prowess of Matthew Scarlett, the rebounding ability of Sam Fisher, the football brain of James Hird, the unbreakable toughness of Michael Voss and the marking ability of Alex Jesaulenko, anyone would reasonably assume we were talking about a seasoned Brownlow Medallist. That is not the case just yet.

Introducing 20 year old Nick Riddle. A man whose 2011 season took the world of local football by storm. Now, he finds himself playing in the VFL for Collingwood, one of the proudest and most successful clubs in football history, alongside premiership championships like Alan Didak, and goal kicking wizards like Andrew Krakouer.

Riddle’s love for the game of football and passion for the contest stems from his high school days playing for Ivanhoe Grammar School and TAC Cup side Northern Knights.

“I loved playing footy [in high school], I love being with my mates. At sort of year 10 it started to become important to me. I went down to the Northern Knights, in the under 18’s, and it sort of got a lot more serious, and I love that serious side of it, I love the competitiveness.”

Former Knights teammate Tim Gleeson had nothing but praise for the tenacious defender when asked about their junior days.” It was awesome playing with Nick. You need to be able to trust your teammates in any sport and he was easily the most trustworthy. You could depend on him in almost any situation.”

“Hopefully he can have another good year, work on the fundamentals and get a look in at an AFL club. I just hope he makes the most of it because we all know how talented he is.”

Despite his desire to play football, Riddle instead made the decision to focus on his studies during year 12. “It would have been great to pursue it at that stage, but I didn’t want put all my eggs in one basket, I sort of kept it all open, whatever happened was going to happen, and for me it wasn’t that big a deal not making it.”

Playing for Greensborough in the Northern Football League last year, Riddle dominated the competition with his blistering run and carry off half back. At the age of just 19, his extraordinary 2011 season saw him become one of the youngest players in the clubs history to win the coveted best-and-fairest award.

“Getting back to Greensborough, where I played all of my junior footy was great because I was able to play with a lot of my mates that I grew up with, and also I was able to play with my brother for the first time… it probably lead to me playing better footy than I ever had.”

“Local footy is awesome for me, everyone looked after me there.”

On top of the B&F award, Riddle was named in the Northern Football League’s Division One Coaches Team of the Year at centre half back, alongside household names like Simon Prestigiacomo and Gary Moorcroft.

“It was a great surprise [to be named], I know I had a great year on the field, I was very happy with it, but I didn’t think it was going to lead to a best-and-fairest, let alone a spot in the team of the year, so I was very very honoured by it because I played with a lot of good blokes at Greensborough”

“I found out through someone on game day that I’d made the team of the year which was a really big shock to me. It was probably one of the best achievements I have ever had, and it was a great feeling to know that I was rated up there with a lot of good footballers that were also in that side.”

Following the 2011 season at Greensborough, interest in Riddle’s services was rife. Eventually it was Collingwood that came calling, after assistant coach Anthony Rocca noticed Riddle’s talent when playing against him in the NFL finals.

“I was actually on the couch one day, it was sort of AFL grand final time, late September, and I got a phone call. It was Tarkyn Lockyer, who’s actually the head coach of the VFL side, and he was just ringing to see if I would be happy to come down and do a preseason.”

“I wasn’t sure if was going to go to VFL level. I had been told by a lot of people to pursue it, and give it a crack while I’m still young, and I’m very very happy that I did.”

Riddle has been a consistent starter so far this year for Collingwood in the VFL, and was a major contributor in the nail-biting seven point win over the Northern Blues on the weekend.

“It’s very different, very surreal, coming from local footy it was a big step for me. It was a bit daunting to begin with, but now after a few games you sort of get along with them all, everyone’s really friendly, it’s a great environment down there.”

He aims to join the likes of Michael Barlow (Fremantle), James Podsiadly (Geelong) and Nick Duigan (Carlton) in turning their VFL success into an AFL contract. The mature age recruiting policy has become an increasingly prominent trend at many AFL clubs in recent times, with the appeal of stronger-bodied, ready-made players now a major factor in the modern game.

“Most defiantly, I will give it a major crack this year and hopefully play consistent footy down in the VFL, get a game most weeks, and then sort of try and get picked up.”

Riddle’s number one fan and girlfriend, Lana Murphy hopes to see Riddle succeed for the team that she grew up barracking for.

“Nick is extremely talented and obviously I was incredibly proud to see him finally getting some recognition for his talent…he works hard and it paid off. Being an avid Collingwood supporter it couldn’t be any better of a situation from my perspective. I am sure he struggles putting on the black and white, being a mad Carlton boy, but the opportunity it presents soon overrides any of that.”

“Regardless of whether he makes AFL or not, Nick will always play footy because it is what he loves and it is what makes him happy. He has never been in it just to make AFL, he loves the game. Obviously playing professionally would be a dream come true, and I honestly believe it will happen. I think a lot of clubs need a better back line and if they don’t pick up Nick to help them out with that, it’s a big loss for them.”

It is only a matter of time before AFL clubs come knocking for Nick Riddle. His strength and pace off the half-back line make him a perfect addition for any team.

Leave a comment